My Journey

June 2017 Report Card

Dear Readers

This month’s portfolio does not differ much from last month’s except for the addition of Samchem Holdings Bhd (“Samchem“), purchased at a premium of RM1.002 per share, and Maxis Berhad (“Maxis“) which was purchased on 30 June 2017.

The purchase of shares in Samchem and Maxis is an attempt to diversity my portfolio with less volatile counters.

AR-170629984
Salvaged most of the losses in May

A mistake may have been made with Samchem. My indicative fair value for Samchem would be about RM0.80 to RM0.85, according to my calculations which I had before I wrote Analysis of Samchem. Instead of being vigilant, I let my lackadaisical discipline, coupled with the fear of missing out on an uptrend, get the better of me. So like any other idiot, those shares were bought, at the peak, and has since retreated a bit.

As at 30 June 2017:

Airasia – 18.3% gain

CIMB – 34.5% gain

Ekovest – 3.4% loss

Elsoft – 35.9% gain

Krono – 35% gain

Maxis – 0.9% loss

Samchem – 8.7% loss

In spite of that, the portfolio’s return of investment is about 23%, partly contributed by the dilution of returns from the injection of additional funds last month. Overall, June has turned out to be a better month than May, if I may say so myself.

Thank you for reading.

One thought on “June 2017 Report Card

Leave a Reply

